Categories
writing

Supper was Simple.

Isaac made hamburgers this week, and we had three left from that night. So I warmed them up and we had hamburgers tonight. At times we finish leftovers. Like tonight. I’m off sweets, and bread until tomorrow morning. Then I go all day with them, or I can still choose to go without. I am on this diet every other day.

Categories
writing

Fourth of July is Tomorrow.

Fourth of July is tomorrow. We usually have a quiet, fourth. I do think that would be a wonderful idea. Happy holiday, and I hope you find others to celebrate with.

I made the meat patties at the church for the grilling we had. We had over twenty, people eat with us Sunday night. The men worked on the hamburgers and hotdogs in the back of the church. It didn’t take long. My burger was good. We had a tiny baby there, and a toddler. It was an active night. I worked the afternoon making the patties, and working in the kitchen. People arrived on time, and we ate almost on time. We had everything but okra, and macaroni and cheese. Smile.

Categories
writing

Salmon with Rice.

Isaac decided to serve Salmon, and rice for lunch. It was a late lunch. I couldn’t eat the Salmon so I gave it to Isaac. The rice was Jasmin rice. The rice was really good. Isaac put the sauce for this on my plate. I ate it.

We could eat popcorn tonight, and not have supper. We had grilled hamburgers, and hot dogs last night at church. We had other food brought in to go with the meal. This is where I brought the two apple pies I made. They are good, but only one was fully eaten. I just offered Ed, and Isaac a piece of pie. They may have had a piece this morning. At this rate they may wait until tomorrow for more pie.

Categories
writing

Dash

via Daily Prompt: Dash

“I’m going to dash down to the store and back. Want to go with me?” I said.

My son hesitated for a moment. He was thinking,” Mom will let me drive my car, while she guides me down the road. I would slam on my brakes, when we were about to hit another car, and I will think,’I should have left her at home. She won’t shut her mouth.’ ”

We would dash into the house, put away the groceries, and not make a big deal of the traffic we had just encountered. We wouldn’t do any more dashing to the store tonight.

Another way I use this word is with spices. I use 3 spices in my pie, but one calls for one dash. In this case, it is a quick dash. The spice is Cloves. It can be strong if you use too much.  Isaac found the Cloves for me, and said, “Don’t use but a dash, Mom. This one can be overpowering.”

Categories
writing

It Hasn’t Been Easy to Gather the Roses.

It has been rainy here. This makes it harder to gather the roses. I have to pick a time when the rain isn’t coming down in sheets. Well, I furnished roses from one bush, and it still had four, roses on it. I put the roses in a vase, in the back bathroom, and on the windowsill in the kitchen. It is awesome to notice the roses close up. I plan to change them out again.

Ed says, “Those roses are finally blooming on that rosebush. I haven’t seen it blooming so much. What did you do, Ruby?”

Categories
writing

18 to go.

If I write 20 posts, the readers will come. I will have written all that is in my heart, and more. I had a busy weekend. Yesterday was Sunday all day. We sang with Isaac as he led in guitar. Then we had lunch with visitors who came and brought someone they love who attended a year ago, but has been sick for a year. We are glad to see her in recovery.

The church had supper together. We grilled meat, and brought in things to go with it. I made 2 pies, and Isaac made brownies with ice cream frozen in the middle. Yummy.

Categories
writing

I am Having Eggs Every Other day.

I started today with this idea. Ed said, “You will have to make yourself oatmeal.”

I don’t favor oatmeal. I had it all my growing up years, and I grew tired of it. I am still tired, but I ate a small amount of oatmeal, with raisins. I am off sweets, and breads for a day. Tomorrow I can eat them.

I am taking this every other day approach to sweets. If I go out, I will do without on that day until supper. Then I can eat, because I haven’t indulged in what I love…….sweets, and bread.

Categories
writing

What a Day!

We worshipped the Lord Sunday morning, and Ed had us come around the table to hear what he had to say from the Bible. It was closer company, but we had room to write notes down, and I did take notes. The message was good, and convicting at times. Smile. It is supposed to prod your heart, mind,  and spirit when you hear the Word of God.

I made two, apple pies for the Sunday night meeting, but we broke into one of them after church. Isaac also served brownies with ice cream frozen in the middle. I don’t know if I ate any of this. I say this because the day continued. We worked in the kitchen until time to eat Sunday night. We had over twenty people, and that was God’s blessing. I served the rest of the pie, the rest of the brownies and ice cream, and then there were other desserts and food to eat.

The meal was wonderful. We sang, and worshipped the Lord and Ed spoke for a short time. I believe the whole day was blessed. We did not leave for home immediately. I stayed to vacuum, and set things right in the kitchen area. God was with us all day, and I had an afterglow from this.

The only thing we didn’t have on the menu was fried, green, tomatoes. I may make them for Wednesday night. We had lots of help with food. There was plenty, and more than enough. We had a wonderful, family experience with songs of praise, and worship. I believe the Lord was with us, because there were more than two, gathered to praise His name.