Categories
writing

Pork Chops are in the Oven.

I have enough custard made for two days. I love hot custard, and it is not hard to make. I made 12 cups at least. It has 2 tsp. of sugar per cup, if that much. Very easy, and in an hour it is done.

Categories
writing

Flower Drawings.

Bloom Where You Are PlantedFresh roses in a vase.

roseinavasenumber2
Roses in a Vase.2

cropped-dancing_sunflowers_by_rsc3-d483avx-e1495288155397.jpg

Barefoot Among the Daisies
Walking Barefoot among the Daisies. By Ruby J. Craft.

PALM BRANCHES-2

Categories
writing

Cake Should be moist.

Some cooks put pudding in the batter to make sure their cake is moist. I love fresh cake, but I have had some dry ones in my day. I can’t eat cake until the 7th, unless I stop to eat it on Isaac’s birthday celebration.

I am off sweets until Sunday, the 6th. That is a while yet, but getting to be a shorter, time to wait. I haven’t lost, but I am comfortable in my clothes now. I can get into things with room left over. They are comfortable, because they are not too, tight.

Categories
writing

In the Country…….

In the country you can go blackberry picking. Wear boots, because there are snakes around the blackberries. They love them. Have you seen a snake with blackberry stain around its mouth? I haven’t either.

In the country you can gather several bowls of blackberries. They make wonderful cobbler. I love to eat them without the sugar or without being in a pie. I do make my own version of blackberry cobbler. It isn’t a pie, if it isn’t sweet.

There are creeks in the country. I love going to the creek and splashing around in the water. I am older, and I haven’t stopped by the side of the road to do this in years. We were on our way to Gatlinburg the last time I found a creek in the country.

Ed said, “Do you want to get in the creek?” I did.

Categories
writing

21 Posts is a good number.

Some posts are shorter than others. I have written until I am through. I believe in giving something to read. I love art, and so did my father. He painting many murals, and portraits over the years. We girls would draw during his sermons. He would look at our sketches. Painting is work, and you have to set goals, and thoughts about the finished product may change. Dad gave me lessons on Saturdays. I took for two years. Mainly I painted, and he advised, but mainly I painted. He sat watching, and not commenting. I believe it helped me to paint. He taught me what to do with water to make it look real.

I want to paint more, but I find my life is busier now that I am not teaching in the classroom. I would like to refresh and start painting again. I have several paintings hanging on the walls of our church. Joining a class might be interesting. I love to paint, but frankly, other people do a wonderful job.

Categories
writing

Most of my meals are Home- made.

I learned to cook from my mom, my grand-pap, and my mother-in-law. Grand-pap taught me how to make mashed potatoes the Pennsylvania Dutch way. His were light, fluffy, and wonderful, with salt. I try to always salt the mashed potatoes while I am making them. The last step is adding milk, and butter, salt and pepper. I believe fluffy, potatoes are so wonderful. Usually they go with a roast.

Categories
writing

Bend to the Exercise.

I will bend to the need to exercise. I don’t like it, but this is the way to lose the weight. I get on the machine and put the handle towards me, while my feet go forward, and back on the pedals that are provided. It is a bench. I purchased it used, and Ed figured how to set it up between the dining and the living room. We don’t eat, or entertain much. So the bench has a perfect place to be of use.

Too much exercise is not enough. Isaac has me try to touch my toes, and hold that position. I can’t make my hands lay flat on the floor, but he can. Bended knees help me make it. Smile. I love to do a little exercise, and then eat something to refresh. I am off ice cream and other sweets. Breads are out, and I might choose one more thing to stop. It may have to be fried food.

I was craving fried chicken, and I ate it with our family. Well, I can’t do much of that. I did get on the bench when I got home. I work out my exercise carefully. It does make a difference of several pounds when I get on the bench.

Categories
writing

Wednesday’s Menu.

Doris is making cake. I am making marinated chicken breasts baked in a light breading in the oven. With this we will have sweet potato casserole with goodies on top. Nuts, and marshmallows make a wonderful topping. There will be plenty of time to make slaw, and salad. We run out of salad, and  the slaw. Some like both. Isaac’s birthday is this week. We will celebrate with the church Wednesday night. He will have all day Thursday to recover from celebrating, and do some more. Smile. I believe birthdays are so special that we must make sure the person is “birth-dayed ” well. Presents are wonderful, but wishing a Happy Birthday to someone makes them smile most of the time. It is your celebration, but join with friends to celebrate right. Wednesday we celebrate one. Cake is coming.

Categories
writing

Water is still A Favorite of Mine.

I try to consume 6 glasses of water a day. This is basic health. I put my water in a fancy goblet, and it is more inviting to drink. I believe water is good for your complexion. Staying off sweets when you are in your teens will clean your face, and neck of the places that break out. Mom kept sugar limited for us girls. We hardly had any skin problems.

I go out on the patio to view my two tomato plants, and to water them and the squash Isaac is growing. He has planted enough squash for the church to take one home. I believe we have eaten more butternut squash this summer. I never heard of it until Isaac found this in the store. We harvested the seeds, and he has planted two more in another pot. I may have to give squash away for early Christmas presents. The fruit inside is orange, and somehow Isaac makes them into cubes. They are lightly flavored, and require not butter. I love butternut squash. But I believe the amount harvested will be huge.

roseinavasenumber2
Roses in a Vase.2
Categories
writing

Water is Where My Dad Took Us.

 

Playing in the creek was always awesome. Usually there were huge rocks, and if there were fish, they got out of our splashing way. We learned to paddle the canoe Dad built. It was light weight, and seated two. Rocks in the Creek.