Categories
writing

Our Church Yard Sale is Tomorrow.

Well, the place looks packed, and ready. Ed, and I went to help today. We did and soon it was time to go. This is our third sale in a row. We will have one more next weekend. Our leader has led most of the time with putting things out. I washed some things today, and set them out to be placed. She will place them.

The yard sale starts early. We will be there all day. I love yard sales. Pray we meet some wonderful people. We have the other sales.

Categories
writing

Hymns Have Been Known To Be Hard To Play.

I don’t play the piano regularly. When I played as a teen, and young adult, I would practice by playing hymns straight through the hymn book. I found them cleverly written. I sought perfection, but moved rapidly through the book so I could come to the ones I loved at the end.

My family was musical, and I was the least musical. I took 8 years of piano, and I had a rough start. My teachers did not teach me the names of the notes, and when my 5th grade teacher discovered I didn’t know them, she gave a teacher’s name. Mom switched teachers, and I learned my notes first, thing. Look for someone who will teach the names of the notes, timing, and the different keys. Find someone who will have a discipline approach. It works. If you study, you can play the scales, and their chords, and enjoy hearing some hymns, or music that you have always loved.

Another good thing about piano is that it builds structure in your mind. I am thankful for the training I received.

Categories
writing

It is Rainy Today.

We have had a sunny, then rainy summer. It is raining outside as I write. I can hear it so it must be a hard, downpour. I love a rainy day when I am inside. I can step outside in the rain. We don’t have a porch, but we have a roof that hangs lower over the patio. I could hide there, but I like the rain.

Yesterday, in the rain, we were coming home, and I saw someone in their yard twirling, and dancing in the rain. He must have been young, but I remember those days. Rain can pound. Without the lightning, it is safe to dance in it.

Categories
writing

My Grandfather Made the Phrase, “Blessed Hope.”

I was young, but growing up. Grandfather and grandmother would come to see us. Since I had two sets of grandparents, we called this one,” Grand pap.” He could cook, and He often did while we waited. Mom was in the hospital for a while, and he came to help with us. He brought Grandma with him. We had more fun, and many meals that He could whip up in minutes, or put on the stove. Grandmother didn’t cook, because he could.

My grandfather would refer to the Blessed Hope. It is knowing that we will see our loved ones in Heaven. He would raise his index finger when he left us saying, “Jisksalu” which means, “Jesus is coming . Keep sweet, and look up.”

Grand pap lived with his wife in Pennsylvania all his life. He worked on the railroad most of his life. He was musical, and so were his children.  I won’t ever forget his influence, and his cooking, habits. Grand pap knew Jesus, sang about him at our church as a visiting soloist, and taught us how to make mashed, potatoes.

Categories
writing

I Have a Little Time.

This makes my second, time to come by the computer a write for a moment. Today is peaceful. I did get to rest early, and then at 4:00 A. M. I was completely awake. I still value the wake time, where I prayed for someone. I included my family, the pets, and the property. I prayed for others I know, and some who went through a funeral yesterday. It all matters to God. This was an awesome time. I don’t usually waken out of the blue like this.

Categories
writing

A, long, marriage.

When you are seriously in love with someone, continue to pray about this. Make sure this is the One you plan to live with forever. Seek God’s wisdom, and your Mom, or Dad’s. They can see many things you wouldn’t in your blindness. God looks on the heart of people. As you pray, God will give wisdom.

When you are ready to go through the ceremony, are you ready to yield this as the last time you may marry? I believe the world has its ways, and God has His plan. At times a Christian has to divorce because cruelty, and abuse show up after the wedding. It is hard to divorce so early, but staying with this is not reality.

Be careful. Choose wisely, and give it to God. Seek His face about the person. He will show you clearly who it is you are marrying, if you ask for wisdom.

I have been married 48 years, and through storms, and rough, waters, and peaceful, times. We know it is by God’s mercy that we are still together. We are Christians, in ministry, but marriage has to be worked on, and attitudes play a big part in living together in marriage. It is a covenant between you, and God.  God is merciful, full of love, and kindness. He has qualities that should want.

Ed prays over our home, and property, and both of us on a regular, basis. He tells anything that doesn’t bend the knee to Jesus to leave our home. This way he cleanses our home. The air changes when we sing to the Lord, or when we sit to read the Word. God has brought us to peace. By His grace, we live one, day at a time.

I find that binding self, Satan, and sin helps in talking with anyone. I believe it helps in our marriage. If I don’t, Ed does. We resist the devil, and he flees. There is power in the name of Jesus. Submission is daily.

Categories
writing

Awaken. Wake up.

I went to bed at 10 with Ed, because we were tired from being everywhere we were yesterday. It seemed sensible to retire early. We were asleep by 10:15, and all was well with me until about 4:00 this morning. I got up, went back to bed, and could not sleep. When you can’t sleep, you have two, choices. You can toss and turn, or you can pray through. You might have to read through until you are sleepy. When I get up to read, I read the Bible. It is rare to be awakened, and I didn’t fight to go back to sleep.

I began praying about things, and the verse that came to mind is in John 11 Jesus is talking about life. He is the resurrection, and the life. Those who believe in Him receive resurrection life. I woke up thoroughly, because I continued to pray about resurrection life. I had plenty of sleep. It was normal to wake up, but not so normal to become impressed with this verse.

The Bible talks about our being dead in trespasses and sin. Then when we receive Christ as our Savior, we receive Everlasting life. John 3:16. I believe God resurrects dead things even to this day. When you don’t know Him, you may have religion, but not a relationship with Him. Jesus is the resurrection and the life. Those who believe on Him as their Savior receive all He has for them, and He receives them from head to toe. The Holy Spirit comes to fill a true believer.

I believe the results of believing with your heart  is a change from dead to God, to living in His Presence for the rest of our lives. We change, from dead in sin, to new life found in Jesus Christ.  Christians speak the truth, and have the love of God on them. You will know them by His love that is foremost as a fruit in their lives.

Categories
writing

The Blessed Hope.

I have said that I went to a funeral today, and the people there sang hymns, and glorified the Lord for us. The place was not crowded, but the woman of God who left for Heaven’s Gates was a strong influence on this large family. I believe she was a woman of God. When you are sure they know Christ, the Blessed Hope is that you will see that Person again. I know they and I will. Live your life for Jesus, and be Christian in all your ways. Let God flow through you, because your turn will come eventually. I don’t dread death. I do want to live all my days for Jesus, and when the time comes, I know the family will know where I am.

The blessed Hope, is that Jesus died that we might have life. Like Jesus, we go to heaven to be with Him. It isn’t by the righteous things we do. It is because He gave His life on the cross for you and me. He rose again. Believe that He is your Savior too. Talk to Him about your life and receive Him as your Savior. The Blessed Hope is that We see each other on the other side because of Calvary.

Categories
writing

Ah! Supper.

Isaac fixed pork chops and this with a vegetable was all we needed. I don’t even think of potatoes now. We had Butternut squash, cut into cubes. We had broccoli steamed for 20 minutes. And the Pork chops were heavenly in a light, breading. Isaac fixed the meat, and I helped with the steamer. We had a salad to serve, but we didn’t need it. This was just enough.