Categories
writing

Overworked.

I feel overworked after I have overworked. While I am working on the project, I am not worrying abut whether I am overworked. I try to set a good pace, and yes, I don’t like to overdo. It is the same as being overworked. I believe a good task should take as little time as possible to complete. Why carry it out? Get busy, and see how much you can do in an hour. Then set the timer for another hour.

My mother was a work-a-holic. She didn’t try to gauge herself. She found more things to do. Finally, when I felt overworked, and tired, I would wander off to the building next door to Mom’s office. I would lie down on the rug, and nap. Mom didn’t know where I was, but she knew when I wandered off. She didn’t say a word. An hour, or more later, I found Mom.

I thought, “I am rested. This was good.”

I believe in working. I believe good parents will introduce work projects for their children to help them learn how to work. Only you can really teach yourself about work. When you pace yourself, you won’t be arguing that you are overworked. Mom always rewarded us with a good ,hamburger for lunch.

Categories
writing

Mystery Bug.

I clean because of bugs, and spiders that need to stay in their quarters. I don’t want to see them in my house, bed, or bathroom. I try hard to make sure no, bugs show out. We have cats, and they help dissolve this problem. I have seen them toss a bug in the air, and see it fall on the floor, and try to get away. The pet caught it again, and tossed it until I came to watch.

Isaac woke us up last night late. It might have been early this morning. He found a strange-looking bug on the bed. Ed took a look, and put the bug in a jar. We have a woman coming to the church today to check for bugs, and to put out food for them. It will rid the church of the undesirable bugs that keep growing if you don’t call the exterminator.

We have kitchen bugs that show up even if we put out traps. She will put the food out, and soon the bugs will stay out of sight. They will be in bug heaven.

I found sheets ready to be washed this morning when I went into the first bathroom to do laundry. Isaac had put his sheets, and blankets in the basket to wash. I don’t blame him. He had never seen such a varmint. We will find out what it is today.

I change my bed weekly, but Isaac might wait for a week or two. Maybe he has learned a lesson. We may need to do several things for him. One is to get another mattress for the bed. He has had this one too, long. When it was new, it was wonderful. I believe it is old enough to go to mattress heaven.

Categories
writing

Tasting What you are Cooking is Important.

Potato salad, dressing for slaw, baked beans, and other things that require intelligence, have to be tasted to see if they are just right.

For baked beans, I buy a tall can of baked beans, and rarely add anything to them. When I do, I stir up yellow mustard, Karo syrup, and barbecue sauce. This make a thick sauce in minutes. Put this in the baked beans, and stir. I may add brown sugar, but only a little. This darkens the beans. Let them cook for an hour at 350. Yum! They will thicken, so you need to check them in 45 minutes.

Potato salad has been foreign to me until last year. I finally made some after all these years. I got sick on potato salad when I was little, and I never forgot. I stayed clear of the salad, because of this. Finally I tried some, and it was bland to me. I recommend tasting what you are stirring up. It will do worlds of good to know that it is sweet enough, or just right. Cut the potatoes, add yellow mustard, sweet diced pickles, and mayonnaise. I don’t add much more. I taste the salad to make sure it isn’t sour, because potato salad should be enjoyable. I do put cooked, boiled eggs in it. Be careful not to put the egg shells in it. My recipe is new, and I made it up myself. I don’t get sick on this rendition of potato salad.

Categories
writing

I’m home. Tired.

I’m home. We had pork roast,with potatoes, and  carrots. I fixed brownies for dessert. Someone brought in salad. What a meal. I needed to do something else when I got home.

I made up our bed, and put the linen in the washer. It is washing now. This is the longest we have had these sheets on the bed. They are our favorite sheets. We wash them, and put them back on the bed. Yes, they are that fabulous. I think it is worth while to spend good money on the best sheets, and then to use them frequently. Make them your favorite sheets. I have several kinds of sheets. We received some of these 40  plus years ago for our wedding. I do think it is good to change the bed every week if possible. This time I waited several weeks. Finally, last night, I changed the sheets, and put the laundry in the washer. I plan to dry the sheets I took off the bed, and put them back on within this week. I don’t like to waste energy, but these sheets were made to sleep on.