Categories
writing

New Cars Have to be Serviced.

At some point, one has to buy another car, because the old, favorite will not go any further. Ed drove his car to 350,000 miles before it stopped running. It had been faithful to drive everywhere and beyond. So he went car shopping, and we bought a Ford. They have been around for a long time. This one was on sale. We make payments on it, and today was Ed’s time to go see how his car is doing by the mechanics. They catch anything that is wrong, and it is under warranty. We are not rich, but there was no choice far as what to purchase.

So what has he done with his car? Many pastoral things. He has given rides to those who needed therapy, and encouragement in mental, stability. He has taken people to their appointments, and come back to get them, and take them home. He has given people rides to church, and to their jobs.He is available with his car, because it is his car. I went with him to pick it out, but I knew Ed needed a car for riding on his own, and helping people. He has been, and he  faithfully gets the oil changed, and gets it through the new car tests.

We have never owned a Ford. I am impressed with the service, and smiles on the lot. I believe every time we come on the lot there is a smile from someone. Smiles go a long way, and I will say that when you smile, you really have that smile on the inside also. It is nice having a car that won’t break down on the freeway. Service is a key to maintaining the car, and yes it is one of those disciplines of life.

Categories
writing

I Have Pills to take.

I have pills to take on a little, schedule. I must complete what I started. I am doing better. I don’t have the rash anymore. I need to take my medications for tonight, and then tomorrow I will have to stay on the regiment that I am on. It makes me weaker, and I rest more.

I exercised more today. I feel it is imperative, because this weight needs to drop. Exercise will help the weight go, as well as eating less than normally. I don’t have to eat that much. I can have three, meals a day, but I can hold back from eating like I have been.

I have dropped some weight, but I don’t want to drop it rapidly. I might get wrinkles where I don’t want them. So I am being cautious. It is a good thing to know the Lord, and to know that He has angels watching over us. We don’t look at what we see, but by faith we know that He is there with us. Angels often are around those who have their minds stayed on Him. It is a matter of discipline, and being steadfast. Nothing should move us from being in His Presence, and loving Him. He is awesome. He wants us to go along with His Presence, and Awesomeness.

Categories
writing

What a Cold Day it Has Been.

I fixed pork roast for supper at the church. It took from 2:00 P. M. on until 6:15 P. M to cook the roast. It could have cooked on another hour. At times we realize too, late that we should have put the roast in earlier. We ate fish, and came back to work on the meal.

Our meeting was special, and blessed. Those who came out in the cold had a hot meal, with potato casserole, and slaw( home-made), and shredded like I do. It was a simple, meal. The fellowship was good, and people ate. Doris, and Tony brought their dessert, and she helped in the kitchen for the last part of the time we cooked. So did Rita.

We bought two, roasts at the same time, and froze one. It was only frozen a week. I don’t think it hurt to freeze the roast.

Our study time was short, and special.

My new verse says, “Blessed is the man who trusts in the Lord. No good thing will He withhold from those who walk uprightly.”  I believe there is a blessing for those who come to the study.