Categories
writing

I Cooked Four Hours Straight, and the Roast was Succulent, and the Mashed Potatoes were Lumpy.

My husband takes me to Logan’s Every Wednesday in order to rejuvenate, and get some energy for cooking our Wednesday Night supper. I have him praying over the meal two days before we buy the food. I want it to be an inspiring meal for those who are the heart of our church. They come on the Mid-Week time to supper, with a Bible Study following.

Yes, I get a spring in my step, because I have prayed and prayed over this meal. I have the money to get a pork loin, and bake it four hours straight. I served real mashed potatoes, with real butter, and pepper sprinkled over the top of those potatoes. When they took the lid off the potatoes, the butter had melted, and one person stirred it into the potatoes before I could stop him.

When there is silence at the table, and everyone is eating, it puts a spring in my step. I know the meal is fine, alright, tasty, and good. They are going to eat every bite. I served 17 last Wednesday night, and there wasn’t but shreds of meat left. That put a spring in my step that is still there. These are leaders, and they have worked hard for a week. I pray over the food early, because it makes me dance, and jump for joy when I see more people coming, and I see they are responding to the hot food. My roast bakes four hours, and I put oil on it. I anoint it and bless the food long before they take a bite. It is my secret. It is my desire to see them energized, and ready for the 45 minute lesson.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Re-springing Your Step.” Why wouldn’t this be good to re-spring anyone’s step.

By rubiescorner

I am an artist, and a retired classroom, and Reading teacher. My son introduced me to Word Press, and helped me start a blog. I called it Rubies Corner's Blog. At first I had few clues about writing, but as I wrote to my audience, I began to share daily. I thoroughly loved my audience, and writing.
I have majored in Rubies Corner's blog because it has grown over the years. I have a blog with more art on it.
My interests are Art, drawing, and reading the Bible. . My audience has grown on rubiescorner because I write what comes to mind. I have 8 other blogs, and they are organized by title.

2 replies on “I Cooked Four Hours Straight, and the Roast was Succulent, and the Mashed Potatoes were Lumpy.”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.