Categories
writing

Father’s Day

Father’s Day was special this year. It surprised me in coming, but I am thankful for my Heavenly Father, and my Dad who was always giving me hints on how to make it without crying.

I was a crier, and he wasn’t. He was strong on the inside, and he loved to walk. We became walkers, and we tried to walk to catch up with him. It didn’t work. His gait was long, because his legs were long.

We learned to either run ahead, or to hold his hand, and obey. If we disobeyed we were all in trouble. Mom got all of us if we sassed her. We respected our parents every day, or all of us were spanked.

Mom thought the problem would just go through us all, so why not spank all the girls instead of the same one every time. We made peace with each other, and we were happier. We stopped arguing, and we started singing instead.

Dad gave me lessons in Art, and this was for about two years. He could draw, or paint anything. He watched as I painted. That was the lesson. Then we would have lunch with Mom. I believe those years flew by.

By rubiescorner

I am an artist, and a retired classroom, and Reading teacher. My son introduced me to Word Press, and helped me start a blog. I called it Rubies Corner's Blog. At first I had few clues about writing, but as I wrote to my audience, I began to share daily. I thoroughly loved my audience, and writing.
I have majored in Rubies Corner's blog because it has grown over the years. I have a blog with more art on it.
My interests are Art, drawing, and reading the Bible. . My audience has grown on rubiescorner because I write what comes to mind. I have 8 other blogs, and they are organized by title.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.