Do You Know How to Make Pudding?

I get the boxes of pudding that you have to make over the stove. Add skim milk and it still makes a delightful vanilla pudding. I do know how to make my own pudding.

4 eggs beaten, 1 teaspoon of nutmeg, and cinnamon.

2 3/4 cups of whole milk heated until it is hot, but not boiling. Pour the milk into the first mixture. Add 12 serving spoons worth of sugar to the mixture. I use a regular serving spoon which is the size of a Tablespoon. This works. Pour this into ramekins and then add the nutmeg on the tops of each individual ramekin of pudding. Bake at 350. This recipe is good any time of the year, or day. I love it in the Winter, but I keep making it all year because this is so comforting. You eat it within an hour. The mixture settles in the oven into a light pudding. It requires sugar, but at times I add less sugar when I am not eating sugar as much. This is why I measure the 12 Tablespoons full. They can be loaded with sugar, or scant.

I eat this pudding when I have had bad news, or good news. The whim for it comes, and it takes about 55 minutes in the oven. If you are baking the meal anyway, put this in first, and it will have tome to coagulate, and come together. I eat this when I am celebrating, or need comfort. Either way it is wonderful. I have baked custard for years, and this recipe is what I bake when I make custard. Ed loves it because it is not too sweet. It can be trimmed by having the milk be skim milk. It tastes the same. I don’t cut the eggs or sugar.

 

Leave a Reply

