“Remember Who You Are.”

My Dad, and Mom taught me the ways of the Lord. When I would go someplace without them, they would say to me, “Remember who you are, Ruby.”

“Who am I?”  This set me to thinking!

I have been shy all my life, but God broke the shyness off me. Now I am not embarrassed to sit by someone of the opposite sex. I don’t turn red when I talk to them, and I don’t mind talking. I do remember who I am. I am God’s child. I was bought with the blood of Jesus Christ. I was saved by grace, because I was raised in a pastor’s home, and my father was a preacher. I could have hardened, and never come to know Him, but my parents, and I am sure my grandfathers and grandmothers, and aunts, and uncles were praying that I would come to Christ. An early age is good, and that was the first time I met Jesus Christ as my Savior. When I was older…around 11 or 12, I went through some days of giving my life in surrender to God in Jesus name.

It was a secret struggle that I shared was going on with only one person. I told her that I was asking God what He wanted me to do with my life. We prayed together, and you know, I got the answer. We knew we would have our answer when we opened our eyes. God spoke clearly to me. Out loud. It might have been the first time He broke the silence. He said, “Teach.” Wow! I was excited that God spoke to me, and told me what I was to do.

My friend received, “Nurse.” I don’t know if she followed through, but I believe she very well could have. The experience of hearing His voice was special. We had prayers together for days when we would talk to God together, breaking in on each others prayers. It was awesome to pray respectfully this way. We didn’t know any better, and R. Riker’s book was a help in our praying together. I believe God spoke…or I would never have thought of teaching. It is a calling with me. He called me, and I accepted by faith. That meant to go to college, and to the paper work. That meant more Leaning on His Everlasting Arms! That meant trusting and obeying! That meant that I surrendered all, everything, even wanting to go to the mission field! I told Dad, and he prayed. I finally left the room. I didn’t know you could pray that long.

Leave a Reply

