TIME WELL SPENT.

FISHING ON THE DOCK

 

My dad would take me fishing when he wanted to go to the lake. I usually went with him by myself, because Mother wanted us to talk to each other. Dad would take a can of baked beans, some hot dogs, and mustard, ketchup, and buns. Usually we stopped for fresh bread, and a cola in a can. He had a sail boat that you could carry on your back. I never tried to carry it that way. Dad was man enough. He put the boat in the water, and we would sail. Other times he would put me on the dock with worms, and a fishing pole. He would wait for me to say, “Will you help me get this in the water?”

Other times I got the line in the water by myself. I might not have caught a fish if I hadn’t prayed about it. The fish I caught was big, but he said it was the wrong kind to eat. We put it back. It was the most beautiful catfish.  In Missouri we ate them from the Mississippi river.

2 thoughts on “TIME WELL SPENT.

Leave a Reply

