Today is not Just Another Day.

Today is not just another day. I have been up an hour later than usual, because I slept a little longer, and lay praying. Then I got up, and fully dressed. Ed was already up. He was at the table eating oatmeal, and watching the news. It is important to watch the news, and keep up with what is happening in the world today.

I ate my oatmeal, and took my pills. Last night I took the last of the pills I have been taking for the rash I had from the red dye they put in my veins to make a scan. That was scary, but what is more scary I want to talk about.

We live in the South, if you live near me. Others of you live all over the world. It is a good time of the year to be alive. We have just entered Spring. Flowers are blooming, and Spring will be in full flow when Easter comes. I look forward to the rest of this year.

Today is not just another day. It is another day to live, and to enjoy life. It is another day to be with Ed, and Isaac. Before I am with them much, I slip to the computer to write, or I slip away with my Bible so I can refresh with the Lord. I have been reading my Bible daily, and I am about to finish the New Testament. I lack some in Acts, and 1 Corinthians. Then I will complete it again. It takes discipline, and steadfastness to read daily. At times I get busy, and my time is not as long, or I miss it until a little later. I didn’t get up early, so I missed the early morning time today. This is not a must, but a joy to read.

I use the sheet entitled, “A Daily Guide to God’s Word” by Teen challenge, as a mark off sheet as I read. I believe in studying the Word of God, like you would for a test. I ask the Holy Spirit to help me as I read.

When you plant the Word of God daily in your heart, and take your time, it produces fruit and results. I believe not hurrying is a must. I believe trying to make time is what you work out with God.

I used to say, “I get tired, but Father, will you wake me up?” He has since I prayed this, and I have no, problem waking.

It is getting up that may be the problem. I wash my face quickly, put on my robe, and bedroom shoes, and head for the den. There I usually study. May I encourage you to study the Word. The Holy Spirit will reveal the truth to you, if you ask, and God will draw close because He wants to talk with you about you, and those who are in your life. This is the discipline of the Lord, but it is worth it. Smile.

 

Leave a Reply

