What’s for Supper? Ruby’s recipe for Custard!

We are having baked potatoes, and chicken pot pie. I didn’t know we were having the pie, or I wouldn’t have baked the potatoes. They are carbs which I have heard today are good for losing weight. Really!

For dessert I baked custard again. I used 2 and 3/4 cups of whipping cream that had not been whipped. It was from a carton. Isaac had one more day to use it or lose it. The whole milk works fine in the recipe, also.

I usually bake custard with skim milk. That works also. It take 4 eggs, and you beat the eggs, and add 16 separate spoons of sugar. I used 19 this time. They are regular serving spoonsful of sugar.

I don’t know that that makes a cup. I don’t measure by the cup on the sugar. I counted 19 spoons this time. Usually I count by twos for each spoonful. Isaac wanted it sweet this time. Each cup would have 3 T of sugar. I divided.

Add cinnamon, and nutmeg to the top when you pour the milk and whipping cream into the little ramekins. Bake for 55 minutes. The topping may get a little brown, but it is delicious. Especially if you use rich milk, it is wonderful with a touch of sugar. I believe this measures to 3/4 cup of sugar. This is a simple dessert, but if you catch it when it is warm, it is really good. I left the cups in the inch of water, in the pan, to keep them warm until after supper. Isaac is making supper! I should be lying down due to my side. It is out of 10 a 5 right now pain wise. I will take two Bayer tiny tablets, and lie down until supper.

Leave a Reply

