Supper Was Simple.

Supper was simple tonight. I served cooked, sweetened cranberries, a broccoli casserole, and breaded pork chops. It was a simple supper, but if you count up the time it took to have this meal, it might not be called simple. To make the cranberries, I put two packages of cranberries under water, to rinse. Then I heated them in 4 cups of water until they started popping. I turned off the heat, and added two cups of sugar, per bag. This equals four cups of sugar. The cranberries cooked down, and left some liquid. I drained some of it, and put the cranberries in the refrigerator to set. This is the second, time I have served these wonderful berries.

The broccoli casserole was one of two that I made. We ate the last one last time we ate together. I cooked two at the same time, and one was put in the refrigerator for tonight. I heated it in the oven for a half hour.

To make this, boil the broccoli, drain, and add a white sauce, and shredded, cheese. I might have used two cups of cheddar cheese to the white sauce. Bake this in the oven for forty, minutes, or until the cheese is melted, and the casserole has come together. I used milk to make the white sauce. Milk plus flour, and you dissolve the flour into the milk. It thickens into a white sauce as it cooks on the stove.  Add the shredded, cheese, and then the drained broccoli. Bake for forty minutes, or until the casserole is bubbly. I put mine in square dishes. This didn’t make too, much casserole this time, and it was good. The one spice used was herb spice. Tonight I warmed this one in the oven for thirty, minutes. It was hot, and good.

I hammered the pork chops, and added marinating sauce. I spread it on the clean chops. Then I put the pork chops into House Dressing. It covers the chops, and they can be placed in an aluminum foil lined pan. I sprayed the pan with cooking oil spray. The chops cooked thirty minutes. They were tender because the marinade was still on the chops.

We had several chops to eat. I had one chop. It was tender, delicious, and tasty. Total time to fix this meal was about an hour. One casserole was pre-cooked. The cranberries were pre-cooked. All we really had to do was to heat up the casserole, and cook the breaded pork chops. I don’t see how anyone would gain weight on this.

Leave a Reply

